Feast Day: September 17th


Prayer to Our Lady of Sorrows
Most Holy and afflicted Virgin, Queen of Martyrs, You stood beneath the Cross, witnessing the agony of your dying Son. Look down with a mother’s tenderness and have pity on me, who kneels before you to venerate your sufferings and to place my request with filial confidence in the sanctuary of your wounded heart. Present them, I beseech you, on my behalf, to Jesus Christ, through the merits of his own most sacred Passion and Death, together with your sufferings at the foot of the Cross; and through the united efficacy of both, obtain the grant of my present petition. To whom shall I have recourse in my wants and miseries if not to you, O Mother of Mercy, who having so deeply drunk of the chalice of your Son, and console with the sorrows of those who still sigh in the land of exile? O Holy Mary, whose soul was pierced by a sword of sorrow At the sight of the Passion Of your Divine Son, intercede for me if it be for His Honor and Glory and the good of my soul.
About Our Lady of Sorrows

The principal biblical references to Mary's sorrows are in Luke 2:35 and John 19:26-27. The Lucan passage is Simeon's prediction about a sword piercing Mary's soul; the Johannine passage relates Jesus' words to Mary and to the beloved disciple. Many early Church writers interpret the sword as Mary's sorrows, especially as she saw Jesus die on the cross. Thus, the two passages are brought together as prediction and fulfillment. St. Ambrose in particular sees Mary as a sorrowful yet powerful figure at the cross. Mary stood fearlessly at the cross while others fled. Mary looked on her Son's wounds with pity, but saw in them the salvation of the world. As Jesus hung on the cross, Mary did not fear to be killed but offered herself to her persecutors. The Seven Sorrows has been honored by the Church since the 14th century. These came to be known as the seven dolors (sorrows) of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The seven swords symbolize the seven sorrows of Our Lady’s life. Devotion to the Sorrows of Mary gave rise to the figure in Christian art of the Pietà, the sorrowing Mother holding the dead Body of her Son who has been taken down from the Cross.
The Seven Sorrows are:
1. The Prophecy of Simeon
2. The Flight into Egypt
3. The Loss of the Holy Child at Jerusalem
4. Mary meets Jesus Carrying the Cross
5. Mary witnesses the Crucifixion and Death of Jesus
6. Mary Receives the Dead Body of Her Son
7. The Burial of Her Son and Closing of the Tomb.